How to fit in your workouts when you have children!

I know that this subject has been done to death – but this is genuinely still one of the questions that I get asked most frequently. So here is my advice on how I fit in my workouts each week.

Firstly – what do I do in the week?

Bear in mind that all my resistance workouts are only 30 mins long and my HIIT sessions tend to be about 15-30 mins.

  • Monday – Resistance workout 1 (BBG legs)
  • Tuesday – LISS and/or HIIT or a Resistance workout (BBG Challenge)
  • Wednesday – Resistance workout 2 (BBG arms)
  • Thursday – LISS
  • Friday – Resistance workout 3 (BBG abs)
  • Saturday – LISS and HIIT
  • Sunday – Rest

What do these mean?

Resistance workout – this is a workout that is based around using resistance (own body weight or weights) to induce muscular contraction; ultimately increase strength, power and endurance. My workouts are made up of 4 circuits (circuit 1 x 2, circuit 2 x 2) based on doing a number of different exercises a specified number of times.

LISS – This stands for Low Intensity Steady State. For me this is a fast paced walk with Rupert in his pram or carrier for a minimum of 40 mins. I am going to do a longer post on this to give you some suggestions on how to make the most of this time!

IMG_0761

HIIT – This stands for High Intensity Interval Training. For me this is normally a series of exercises that work in intervals. So working at my maximum for 30/45/60 seconds and then walking for 15/30/60 seconds for a total of 15-30 mins.

So how do I fit it in?

I have 5 pieces of advice for you:

  • Don’t try and change everything all at once

    I think the first people to fail at a diet and exercise regime are those who try and change everything all at once. These are the people who go from rarely exercising and eating a lot of fast food to deciding they are going to workout everyday and eat no sugar.

    “The only way you’ll form long-lasting habits is by applying the Power of Less: focus on one habit at a time, one month at a time, so that you’ll be able to focus all your energy on creating that one habit” – Leo Babauta
    Author of the best selling book “The Power of Less”

    If its an exercise regime that you want to start, then just start your exercise regime this month. It’s likely that your diet will naturally follow as you start to crave a healthier lifestyle – but don’t worry about changing everything at once. The point is to start…

  • Plan ahead

    IMG_4004

This is almost my most important piece of advice as I find that if I have planned to do 5-6 workouts a week then I am much more likely to fit it in, rather than trying to find that time during any given day.

Ps – this is my beautiful Lorna Jane diary which I use to plan my weeks in! 

  • Be consistent

    Believe it or not… you can be consistent! However, you also need to be flexible as children are massively unpredictable! I have 2 workout slots in the day that I try and aim for; the first is during Rupert’s first nap and the second is when he has gone to sleep in the evening before my husband gets home. Obviously this works for me at the moment as I am not back at work yet… I will let you all know how this changes when I have work to fit in too! Get your workout clothes on! 

    If I want to get a workout in – I dress for the occasion! I pretty much live in my workout clothes now, when I wake up in the morning that’s what I get changed into and I don’t take it off until my workout has been done. If I am going out in the day obviously I try (and often fail) to wear something else, but when I am back home – that’s what I get changed into.

  • Don’t be too hard on yourself

Children are exhausting, life is exhausting and both are very unpredictable! It is absolutely ok to miss a workout after nights without sleep, it is absolutely ok to miss a workout if you have had the worst day possible and really just need to lie down.

It is so so important to listen to your body, you only have one and your babies need you to be around so don’t hurt yourself trying to fit in your workouts each week.

That being said, sometimes the best cure for an extremely long day or feeling really stressed out is to get a workout done! You can have your glass of wine or bar of chocolate after that and revel in the fact that you have at least ticked something off your list today!

I hope that this helps! Let me know what other tips have helped you!

A xx

 

One thought

Leave a Reply

