Modifications – Press Ups

This is one of the exercises that I dreaded when I started the BBG guides.  Every time that I saw this on the schedule my heart would drop; my core was so weak after I had Rupert and my arms were even weaker from years of cardio and not many weights, so I knew that to get through these exercises I needed to modify them.

Remember that it is absolutely fine to modify any exercise if you don’t have the strength to do the full pose. So many people give up fitness programmes as they either hurt themselves or they find the poses too hard; modifying will help you prevent both of these.

Why a press up is good for you?

A press up strengthens the following muscles:

  • Shoulders
  • Chest
  • Core
  • Scapular Stabilizers (muscles that connect your neck, mid back and shoulders)

All of these muscles are essential to be strong and stable especially when you have children as the amount of time you are carrying and lifting them puts a lot of strain on your back which is still recovering from pregnancy!

Modifying a press up

There are lots of different ways to modify a press up, but in the following video I will show you 4 different types:

  • A full press up
  • An incline press up on a chair/table
  • A press up on your knees
  • A box press up

All of these exercises will use the same muscles, but will use other supporting muscle groups to varying degrees.


Hope this helps!

A Xx

 

Leave a Reply

